PNG Battle Update


I made another Siphon/Clever Dripper of the PNG today, and I must say the result has absolutely blown me away.

The Siphon, this time around, was completely different from yesterday. It was absolutely the smoothest cup of coffee I’ve had in a long time. Very sweet and pleasant. The only thing I changed was the grind setting (understanding that it would most likely change the cup a lot.) I was afraid it would over-extract, but it seemed to hold up okay. I don’t like to deviate from my recipe too much, but I can’t help but feel like this morning’s brew has made me want to dig deeper! The amount of consistency I’ve found has been great, but I feel like at this point I’m willing to waste a few batches to refine what I just drank.

As for the Clever Dripper, not too much changed. It was still nice and round, with a sweet, and pleasant tartness at the end. Even a little buttery! If anything, it’s a little more laid back and perhaps sweeter. I can’t help but feel like the coffee needed to sit for another day to reach it’s potential.

The lesson learned?

Continue to make judgments off what are tasting, but know there are no absolute consistencies with coffee.

Sound fair?

Pic unrelated

2 Responses to “PNG Battle Update”

  1. L. Ron Hubbard Says:

    i think that the PNG through the dripper deserves more accolades than you are giving it, the taste was beautifully balanced and diverse, and the cup was very clean, i very much enjoyed the subtly contrasting flavors and the clean warm finish. but i do agree that there is something to be said for the siphon cup as well, both were fantastic, i’m not sure if i could choose one cup over another at this point though.

  2. fidel castro Says:

    MOAR!!!

Leave a Reply

